About LSA

The Leisure Studies Association (LSA) was founded in 1975 in response to the wave of interest in leisure by an independent body of planners, researchers, policy-makers, administrators and practitioners who saw the need to address leisure issues for a broad range of academic disciplines and in industry, commerce and government. They observed the many ways in which leisure represents the state of society and the effects of social change. The establishment of the LSA created an opportunity for practitioners and researchers to come together to exchange opinions and experience, disseminate information and establish areas for further enquiry in leisure studies areas. LSA’s audience includes scholars in sociology, geography, psychology, economics, planning, architecture, ecological sciences, physical education, recreation management, media studies, cultural studies, local and national government, tourism, and events.

Through its annual conferences, one day events, and through the publication of the book series by Taylor and Francis, the Association has improved communications between the disparate professional interests.

The LSA is the only body which addresses itself so widely in leisure. It has a UK and international membership of people with professional and personal interests in the study of leisure.

We have partnerships with ANZALS and TALS which further establishes our international connections.

The Executive Committee


Dr. Thomas Fletcher
Leeds Beckett University


Dr Spencer Swain
York St. Johns


Dr. Briony Sharp
University of West Scotland

Digital Communications 

Matthew Hutchinson
Manchester Metropolitan University


Dr David Scott
Abertay University

Research and Enterprise

Dr. Ian Jones
Bournemouth University

Student Rep

Matthew Hutchinson
PhD Student – Manchester Metropolitan University

Ordinary Members 

Dr. Bailey Ashton Adie

Solent University

Dr. Louise Platt

Manchester Metropolitan University

Dr. Rhiannon Lord

Abertay University

Anna Rageth

University of Applied Sciences of the Grisons 

Dr. Aaron Pooley

Soonchunhyyang University 

Dr. Katherine King

Bournemouth University

Dr. Chris Russell

University of Worcester

Lifetime Honorary Members

Robert Stebbins
Ken Roberts
Myrene McFee
Jonathan Long







Join LSA today!

Join now for a range of benefits from opportunities to apply for funding, access to resources, reduced conference rates and more!

Join here