About LSA

The Leisure Studies Association (LSA) was founded in 1975 in response to the wave of interest in leisure by an independent body of planners, researchers, policy-makers, administrators and practitioners who saw the need to address leisure issues for a broad range of academic disciplines and in industry, commerce and government. They observed the many ways in which leisure represents the state of society and the effects of social change. The establishment of the LSA created an opportunity for practitioners and researchers to come together to exchange opinions and experience, disseminate information and establish areas for further enquiry in leisure studies areas. LSA’s audience includes scholars in sociology, geography, psychology, economics, planning, architecture, ecological sciences, physical education, recreation management, media studies, cultural studies, local and national government, tourism, and events.

Through its annual conferences, one day events, and through the publication of the book series by Taylor and Francis, the Association has improved communications between the disparate professional interests.

The LSA is the only body which addresses itself so widely in leisure. It has a UK and international membership of people with professional and personal interests in the study of leisure.

We have partnerships with ANZALS and TALS which further establishes our international connections.

The Executive Committee

Chair 

Dr. Tom Fletcher
t.e.fletcher@leedsmet.ac.uk
Leeds Beckett University

Secretary 

Dr Spencer Swain
s.swain@yorksj.ac.uk
York St. Johns

Treasurer

Dr. Sandro Carnicelli
sandro.carnicelli@uws.ac.uk
University of the West of Scotland

Digital Communications 

Dr. Louise Platt
l.platt@mmu.ac.uk
Manchester Metropolitan University

Membership

Dr. Briony Sharp
b.sharp@hud.ac.uk
University of Huddersfield

Student Rep

Graham Condie
s1690038@sms.ed.ac.uk
PhD Student – University of Edinburgh

Ordinary Members 

Dr. Ian Jones
jonesi@bournemouth.ac.uk
Bournemouth University

Dr. Paula Danby
pdanby@qmu.ac.uk
Queen Margaret’s University

Dr. Katherine King
kingk@bournemouth.ac.uk
Bournemouth University

Dr Paul Gilchrist
P.M.Gilchrist@Brighton.ac.uk
University of Brighton

Dr David Scott
d.s.scott@wlv.ac.uk
University of Wolverhampton

Lifetime Honorary Members

Ken Roberts
Myrene McFee
Jonathan Long

 

 

SaveSaveSaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSaveSaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

Join LSA today!

Join now for a range of benefits from opportunities to apply for funding, access to resources, reduced conference rates and more!

Join here